30 Years Later, The Backstreet Boys Remain.

I don’t remember the first Backstreet Boys song I ever heard.

But I remember learning every word to every song on every album as soon as I got my hands on it.

I remember the BSB song that I had on repeat the first time my heart got broken.

I remember the BSB song that was ringtone throughout highschool.

I remember the BSB song that was being performed when I looked around an arena, in awe of something bigger.

I remember the BSB songs that felt like a warm hug for my brain after the worst moments of my life.

I don’t remember the very first time I saw the Backstreet Boys.

But I remember all of the words in all of the interviews I watched on repeat when I was 10.

I remember the absolute unbridled joy that I felt when I saw them live for the first time when I was 12.

I remember being in awe of how genuinely kind they were when I met them at 16.

I remember the appreciation I feel for every moment and Backstreet experience throughout the rest of my 20s.

Today, the Backstreet Boys enter their 30s as a group.

Someone asked me recently why I think the Backstreet Boys still have such a fanbase and the answer, for me, was simple – they’ve been loyal to us, so we remain loyal to them.

Their music has been woven into our lives like threads that have sometimes held us together and the moments in between that we’ve spent with them and with each other are fenceposts on which we hang some of our best memories. For some, the Backstreet Boys are just a band who have stood the test of time against all odds. For fans, the Backstreet Boys are a stable constant and a reminder that not only have they made it 30 years – but we have too.

Thank you to Kevin, Howie, Brian, AJ and Nick for not only entertaining us for 30 years, but for never letting us down. In a world of constant change and challenges, the Backstreet Boys remain. We couldn’t be more grateful.

Leave a comment