365 Days Ago, “What Happens On The Backstreet” Began…

DSC06792

365 – The Number of Days “What Happens On The Backstreet” Has Been Open.

Today, we celebrate one year of being open as a site and I know that’s not as huge for many of you reading, so I’ll keep it short and sweet.

For those who don’t know, my name is Sara and I started WHOTB out of a need for a creative outlet. I’ve always been a writer and could write my way out of anything all the way through school. I’ve been a Backstreet Boys enthusiast since I was 9 and have stayed relatively quiet in the fandom until now. Once I jumped in hardcore, I felt there was a need for a fun Backstreet “buzzfeed” type website where fans could share their input, stay updated in fun ways, and know they weren’t alone in how they feel about things.

In one year, we’ve celebrated the IAWLT and mourned the end of it, rallied around Nick in his DWTS journey, cheered for a new Backstreet Baby, shared our VIP experiences, our BSB cruise memories, and so much more. I never expected WHOTB to be such a success. It started out as a hobby that I would work on during dull lunch breaks and weekends. I never expected it to turn into writing and moderating for nickcarter.net or writing for the BSB official site. That STILL blows my mind.

What also blows my mind is the incredible support from Backstreet Army. Never did I dream that I would get 100 hits in a year and here we are, coming up on 200,000. There’s 3440+ of you (including two Backstreet Boys) following WHOTB on Twitter and 2050+ on Facebook.  The kind words, funny replies, constant excitement for new things and huge love I have received is EVERYTHING and I am beyond grateful for each and every tweet, comment, message and email.  You wouldn’t believe how much it means to me. Having 4 out 5 Backstreet Boys and their wives read your posts is awesome, but the love from the fans themselves means just as much.

A lot of you have made comments assuming I have a team working on this site because I use words like “we” and “us” when writing. While this site is solely mine and I am the only one writing, my goal was always to make What Happens On The Backstreet feel like it was for everyone written by everyone. And some of it is. There are multiple posts that you have opened your hearts and shared your personal stories. Those are my favorite. Getting to know a lot of you has honestly been the best part of this whole thing. Thank you for trusting me to tell your story. Thank you for sharing my own work.

If you’re reading this, thank you, thank you, thank you. Hope to keep you around for another 365, fan-mily. As long as there is a Backstreet, I’ll be telling you what’s happening on it. 😉

backstreet-boys-470

6 thoughts on “365 Days Ago, “What Happens On The Backstreet” Began…

  1. I was one of your first followers and I always say I love what happens! I love your style, the things you write and how you are able to entertain us! You’re great! So HAPPY BIRTHDAY WHAT HAPPENS ON THE BACKSTREET! We share the same zodiacal sign (I wanna know my Horoscope, unlike Nick hihihi)… Thank you so much for your work! Hope to meet you in person, one day! Xoxo Alex

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really appreciate what you’re doing, really ❤
    I've only found your blog this week and I really regret not knowing about sooner.
    And I really like your writing style, and the way you talk about our guys is just amazing xx
    I hope your blog will be have a really long run ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

