16 “First Time With The Backstreet Boys” Stories From Fans Around The World

BSB1

In the 22 years that the Backstreet Boys have been in existence, there has never been a time that we, as fans, get tired of seeing them live, meeting them, hugging them, and being in awe of their talent and kind hearts. However, there is always something about the first time that gets to you. There is always something about the first song, the first hug, the first smile that will take you back to the feelings that you could never replicate.

These 14 fans were kind enough to share their memories with us and will inspire you to take a walk down your own memory lane. After all, the first time is life changing. WARNING: You might get feelings reading these.

1. Lianne

image1My name is Lianne and i live in Moncton, Canada. My first time meeting the Boys was on May 3, 2014. I had seen them in concert 4 times before but this was my first VIP event.  Thanks to my awesome hubby for paying :). After 21 years my dream finally came true.  It all happened so fast.  I walked up to Howie first and he gave me a hug.  Then Nick took my arm and pulled me to him…I almost died.  After the photo, i hugged Kevin and AJ then it was over, but very worth the 21 years of waiting 🙂

2. Debra

IMG_4207My name is Debra. I’m 52 and have been a BSB fan for 18 yrs – here’s my story about the 1st time I met BSB!! BSB was to release their 1st album in the USA in NYC at virgin mega  store so my friends and I decided to go (3 of us were from montreal and 3 were from toronto). I’ve been a Brian Girl since day one. Finally, in NYC, we were keeping eyes open for BSB on August 11th. We just finished dinner at pizza place on Broadway, walking out I just happened to look towards my left – “OMG it’s AJ!” “Hi ladies, what’s up?” “Just gonna check out Times Square”, asked him for photos (“sure”) When it was my turn,I gave him a hug and started to cry. He said “hey sweetie, why ya crying?” “I’m sorry but I just can’t believe I just met you”, “Hon, it’s just little old me, AJ!”. Above is the pic from August 11, 1997. He then spoke to us, took photos  with my friends, saw me looking in my bag. “Did you lose something?” “No, forgot the bday card for my friend back home that I wanted ️signed if I’d be lucky to have met one or all of you”. He asked if I was coming the next day then said, “ok, then bring your card and I’ll make sure all the guys sign it!”

August 12th – now in line it’s 4:30 am ️(OMG) we are first in line (EEEKK). At 8:00 am, they opened to give us VIP bracelet for autograph session after inside was shaking so bad I was like “OMG Gonna meet BSB!” Saw part of mini concert now in lining up again my feet were so killing me, but we got to hear sound check. OMG now just 3 fans ahead of me and I can see table sitting behind that table was BACKSTREETBOYS: BRIAN ,HOWIE, NICK , AJ, KEVIN!!! Finally, my turn.

Brian in his amazing KENTUCKY accent says “hi darling, how are ya?” I was so nervous. “I’m fine!” “What’s your name?” “D-DEBBIE” Brian was so sweet he said “Well hi D-DEBBIE, my name is B-BRIANNN! So where ya from?” “MMMMONTREAL” “WOW! I like MMMONTREAL!” I told him my friends and I were waiting outside 10 1/2 hrs to met BSB. He poked Howie “hey man, did you hear that?!” ️️and signed my cd. I gave Howie a birthday card we had sent around the world ️signed by 88 BSB fans (had many bsb pen pals) and he was shocked. “Tell everybody thanks!” Nick said “hey..wow you guys waited for all long time thanks so much!” 2 more signatures on my cd. “Hi AJ nice to see you again..” “Got your friend’s birthday card?” “Yup.”  “Give it to me. What’s your friend name?” “Natalie.” “Hey guys, listen up. Sign this card for Debbie’s friend” All ️signed!

Finally was KEVIN. “Hey hey..what s up?” “Hi.”  “Hun, you ok ?” ️As by this time my feet were so major sore. “Nice to finally meet you, I’m so tired as my friends and I have been waiting 10 1/2 hrs to meet you guys.” He took my hand one of his hands was under mine put his other on top and said “It’s fans like you who make this all worth while, thanks so much!”
There you have it. I’d do it all over again just want to you to know. P. S. All the guys ️signed my CD

3. Melissa

me and howie
My husband had surprised me with a platinum VIP meet and greet with the boys when he got home from Iraq in 2010.
He rented a limo for the 2 of us and everything! While we were waiting for the sound check party to start he was picking on me, telling me how much of a dork I was being. He was joking of course.  When the sound check was over it was time for the meet and greet pics. When my husband and I walked up there all I could get out when I was shaking each of their hands was “hi”. “hi” really? Finally my life long dream of meeting the backstreet boys has come true and all I could say was hi? I felt like the biggest dork ever! Howie ends up taking all the platinum people on a backstage tour. At one point I was walking beside him and I couldn’t think of anything to say. Finally we got to where all the sofas were and he was talking about how he used to share a bus with Nick and AJ a long time ago and I blurted out “so has your cleanliness rubbed off on them?” really? did I just say that? Howie rolled his eyes and replied “yes they’ve gotten better.”  Then the most embarrassing thing of all happened.. I tripped and almost fell over a glass coffee table in which Howie said “don’t fall” “are you okay?” I wanted to run seriously. I felt like the biggest dork on the face of the earth.  At the end of the backstage tour we got our VIP passes signed by Howie and a picture with him. Even though some parts were embarrassing it’s a day I will never forget and my husband and I still talk about it all the time. He says his next goal is to get me on a cruise.. We’ll see.

4. Taylor

image1(1)Age 12 (2013)
We finally got in the line to meet the Backstreet Boys. I was sweating, jumping up and down smiling so hard. I walked over, they told me their names and gave me hugs! It was two days before my 13th Birthday (my mom told them), so of course they said “happy birthday”, all I could say for hours was “Nick Carter hugged me!” I was in complete shock! I saved the special shirt I wore that day, and it hasn’t been worn since, because it has BSB DNA on it! That was the greatest day of my life!

5. Noora

bsbscMy name is Noora and I first saw the Backstreet Boys in concert back in 2005 when I was 17. But that’s not the story I want to tell.

I’ve been a BSB fan since I was 11 years old so that makes 16 years this year. I’m now 26. It was totally love at first sight and I dreamed of meeting them ever since. Little did I know that come 2014 and the IAWLT tour, I’d actually get to fulfill my dream. When I heard that the Boys were coming to Finland on their tour I knew immediately that I just had to buy a VIP ticket so I could finally meet my idols. I had no idea what I was getting myself into by doing that. Me and my friend Heidi (who I’ve become super close thanks to the Backstreet Boys) bought Gold VIPs. The whole day ended up being more than I had hoped for. It started with us going to their hotel. I got not one but TWO selfies! And one of those was with my man Kevin! I’d been waiting for that for 15 years! That was just an added bonus to the VIP and the soundcheck party. We got to the arena and I was super nervous. I was in the front row at sc party and I even got to ask the Boys a question! Thank goodness I had been thinking about that before the show. While the Boys were singing Trust Me at the SC, Howie noticed me singing along and gave me the thumbs up. Oh how I love that man. Heidi and I got this brilliant idea of making our own shirts for the concert. That turned out to be one of the best ideas ever. The back of the shirt said KTBSPA and the front of my shirt said “Helloooo Mr. Richardson”. Her’s said “Hellooo Mr. Carter”. When it was time to go to get our M&G picture taken, I wasn’t as nervous as I thought I would be, Which was good since I had something to give to Kevin. We had written a letter for all the Boys that I wanted to give to Kevin. Even got to talk to him for a minute which made this K-girl extremely happy. Oh and about my shirt? When I went to hug them and they saw my shirt, they said “Well hello Mrs. Richardson” to me! I totally didn’t mean it like that! I just wanted to show my love for Kevin! As I went to hug Kevin he gave me the biggest hug. It felt so good. Took me 15 years to meet them but it was so worth it. I’m so glad I waited until the IAWLT tour to buy a VIP since I got a picture with all of the 5 Boys. And as an added bonus I got an autographed photo of them! I will cherish that M&G my entire life. ❤

6. Miriam

BSB2007
Miriam, 27, The Netherlands.
* Age first concert: 17, on October 12th 2005, Never gone tour, Rotterdam, The Netherlands.

Ok, now don’t judge…yes I was 17 and my first concert was Never Gone. I missed out on the Millennium days and such because I was too young and I had no one to go with!

(Aw, don’t feel bad, since 2005 I’ve been to 6259 or something other concerts and traveled all over the world for these boys lol). I will never forget this concert. I begged my mom to go with me, skipped school, still remember what I wore that beautiful sunny day and loved every second of the concert, even though we had crappy seats all the way in the back of the arena.
* Age first time meeting them:  19, it was on October 10th 2007, Berlin Germany.
I read on a Dutch BSB fan forum that the boys were coming to Berlin for a signing to promote the Unbreakable album. Well this was my chance to meet the boys! A few days later I met up with some BSB fans, who I’ve never met, in the middle of the night and we drove for hours until we arrived at our final destination, a mall in downtown Berlin. And then the waiting began. We waited for hours until the boys arrived (Backstreet Time!) and there were hundreds of people. Security wanted to shut down the event because things were getting out of control. I was so afraid I couldn’t meet the boys after all. But security pulled me out of the crowd and I was one of the last and lucky people who got to meet Brian, Howie, AJ & Nick that day. I was able to shake their hands (no hugs back then) and they signed my Unbreakable booklet. Fun fact: During the signing, AJ and Nick got into a discussion (about something stupid, nothing serious) while I was waiting for them to sign my booklet. So I just stood there *awkward*, waiting for them to stop talking until Nick noticed me, nudged AJ and said: Dude AJ, this girl is waiting! Sign her booklet! Nick gave me his typical Nick Carter smile, with a look on his face like *excuse him*.  AJ looked at me and said:  Sorry about that girl, we got a little sidetracked. How are you? I mumbled something like: Good…*smile, giggle*. After what felt like 10 minutes (reality: 2 minutes) they signed the booklet and I walked away with a smile on my face. I finally met them!
* Age first VIP: 20, it was on April 6th 2008, Unbreakable tour, Rotterdam, The Netherlands.
My first VIP wasn’t really something special. Yeah I met them again, got to shake hands again (no hugs, no kisses), I think they signed something again and we took our picture (with the barrier…bless Kevin for getting rid of that thing when he came back)..and there was $200 less on my bank account lol. I know, it doesn’t really sound that exciting or romantic but if you have the chance to ever meet the boys, try hotels, promo events, a cruise…you’ll have a far better experience 😉

7. Tracy

large.2lzfovevck7b

Age when I met the boys: 27The first time I met the boys was June 12 2011, at the Izod Center in East Rutherford, New Jersey. It was during the NKOTBSB tour. I had never done a VIP before in my life. Never met the boys before. I didn’t know what to expect.I have been a fan of the boys since 1996 when I heard them on the radio. I didn’t know who they were at the time. I later was given a cassette  tape of the US debut CD by my mother. The boys have helped me through everything ranging from deaths in the family to personal anxiety, and in the winter of 2010 when the NKOTBSB tour had been announced… I said to myself that I was going to do vip with my best friend Ali. I brought up the idea to her and said I would buy us both Silver vip with my Christmas bonus as my gift to her. As her gift for me,  she fronted the extra money so we could get Gold. She wanted me to have some “alone time” with the boys. See, BSB, well Nick especially is one of the reasons I am still here. I owe a lot of my coming out of depression to him and the boys inspiring me. Meeting them was a HUGE deal.That day in June we went to the venue early and I stood in line with everybody else. I was shaking from nerves. I know they are regular people but it was the first time I’d met a celebrity. While we were in line we saw NKOTB finishing their own pictures. Joey came and gave us high five. Donnie gave my friend Ali a huge hug. After that I kind of started crying. It was becoming real for me then. As the line got closer and closer to the boys, the curtain separating me from them opened and I saw them up close for the first time in my life. I suddenly wondered if I had worn the right clothes for my pic, if I looked okay. I became self conscious, trying to calm myself down because I wanted to cry from happiness some  more. It was my turn and I was frozen in place, I couldn’t walk over. The boys were looking at me, I could feel Nick staring. Brian came over to me and put his arms around me after I’d finally took a couple steps. He blew me away. Brian seriously gives the best hugs in the world. I felt myself calm down a bit after that. AJ said “hello sweetheart”. Then there was Nick. I kept telling myself don’t look at him, you’ll be a mess. I looked up and he was just looking at me, smiling. He said hi sweetheart just as AJ had done. He hugged me and I was surprised that he actually smelled good. (LOL) I saw Howie waiting for me to come over but Nick had just fully distracted me. I felt horrible for not going over to Howie. (i finally made up for it on the 2014 cruise) then it was picture time. I took the pic and then went up the stairs to go to sound check. I almost tripped going up the stairs. Then I got to my seat and the tears came. I turned to Ali and said “did this just happen?”I’ll never forget that day as long as I live, it was perfect. I wouldn’t change a thing.

8. Kristyna

IMG_465

My age at my first ever VIP was 23, This Is Us tour 2009.
I was platinum VIP and the boys stood behind barriers for other VIPs, but they went in front of barriers for us platinum.
I didn’t count with that and was so excited. I walked to Nick first, hugged him and he grabbed my arms and posed me
in front of Howie and said, “this is Howie”, Howie was laughing and said to me,”good to see you´´ and I was so on the edge,
I offered him my hand to shake and he looked at my hand, hugged me and kissed my faces and said “nice to meet you´´.
Again, I was so on the edge, I didn´t expect it, I couldn´t even speak 🙂 Then we hugged with AJ and then I looked at Brian
and was thinking, “Oh my God, Brian´´ or something like that and he said “come here´´ and hugged me.
And then picture from Justin and backstage tour, amazing experiences, I will never forget them.

9. Kimberly

I’m a 90s kid. Between 1997 and 2000, age 11-14, I was on the top of my “pop”-game, listening to Westlife, Steps, Britney Spears and, of course, the BACKSTREET BOYS!

As I grew older and began to experience the oh-so-known and overrated “teenage problems”, my music taste changed as music was my outlet to release my anger. And I was quite angry, I can tell you that! My inner pop-princess was locked away somewhere in a corner of my subconscious, but never really left.

So as many others, I lost interest and track of what my former idols were doing – I want to express my utmost sorry for this. If I knew then, what I know now, I would have NEVER let this happen! – After Never Gone, I completely lost it and I didn’t know the Backstreet Boys were still making music and touring (now is the time to shoot me, if u didn’t do that already).

Whenever they were played on the radio, however, the volume went WAAAAAAY UP and I sang along at the top of my voice, never failing to remember every single word.

In November 2013, I was in my car and I just finished singing along with “Quit Playing Games With My Heart”, when my attention was caught by the announcement of a Backstreet Boys tour with ALL band members (yes, emphasis on “ALL” – I personally didn’t realize what happened – shoot me, again!).

This was it. This was my chance to go on a road down memory lane and do what I didn’t do 15 years ago: see the Backstreet Boys perform live. I decided to buy tickets. Little did I know what impact that decision would have…

22 March 2014 changed my life. My friend and I entered a packed “Sportpaleis” in Antwerp. After the preshow by The Exchange and, apparently, Baylee (while he was rapping, I told my friend: “Wow, who is that kid? He has talent” – shoot me again… it gets boring, does it), you could feel the anticipation rising.

Imagine: 1 Sportpaleis – 13.000 people – the lights went out and as “The Call” started playing and those 5 fabulous men entered the stage, the crowd exploded and my jaw dropped. The rest is history…

This was the BEST SHOW I have ever been to. Both my friend and I were blown away. Their music, their looks, their moves,… How could we ever let that slip away from us over the past years?

Since that magical evening, it feels like I’ve been spellbound. I started reading about them and realized I had a hell of a lot of catching up to do…

Eventually I ended up playing their music every single day, standing front row at their next show only a few months later and setting up a Twitter account dedicated to my BSB love – which has brought me to meet all these incredible people who are – just like me – bedazzled by this vocal harmony group.

So this is my story, this is what my first BSB concert has done to me. I know I haven’t been the “best” fan the past years, but I’m “all-in” NOW, with hopefully many years to come. I sure will be there, keeping the backstreet pride alive.

#KTBSPA

10. Denise

unnamed (1)

I don’t actually remember my first concert cause it’s so many years ago way in the beginning. So I wanted to share my first VIP. And that was pretty recent, last year on March 22, 2014. I was 35 years old at the time and I finally saved up enough money to buy a VIP Gold. I was excited, I did meet the guys before, but this was just something I really wanted to do. Before we had to be in line for VIP, we were at the hotel the guys were at and we saw them. But we were late to get our VIP tickets. It was in Antwerp, Belgium and with a lot of stress and not getting to our own hotel to check in, I ended up getting dressed in the bathroom of a gas station. I can tell you, stress level was way up high! After me and my bestie (who I met in real life for the first time there) and my other good friend Anna got in line finally we got our tickets and stood in line for soundcheck. I had prepared a question for Kevin, but unfortunately, Justin didn’t came close, so I wasn’t picked. But it was okay, soundcheck was great and Kevin was being silly.

Then after soundcheck we got in line for the meet and greet. The wait was long as there were a lot of VIPS. I have to tell you a little short story, that 6 months earlier I had met Kevin at the studio’s in Holland and had a deep talk with him. He was so pure and so at ease at the time. It was a very special moment. So back to VIP. I went up to hug Howie, then AJ and from the corner of my eyes I saw Nick with this huge grin on his face. So when I went up to him he came to me and grabbed my head an hugged me (I am a short girl lol). Then Kevin took me away from Nick, saying to Nick it was his time now. He looked at me and grabbed me in his arms and said heeeeeeeeeeey baby, so happy to see you again! He recognized me and we had a long hug. I gave him the present I had with me. It were the official documents to a star I named to his father.  Kevin was overwhelmed and loved his gift. We took a pic and he kept holding me and talked to me. Drew was already very impatient because they were running late bigtime and Kevin was taking long with me. Kev smiled to me and he said I could go and hug Brian. I totally forgot I didn’t hug him yet haha. So I went up to Brian and hugged him, already feeling Kev’s arms pulling me back. He kept thanking me for the gift. I told Kev I really had to leave now, cause Drew was about to explode. I said goodbye to him and as I was walking away, Kevin was still yelling to me, how he loved his gift and how thankful he was for it. Later that night I got a tweet from him. (and a lot more after as well) It was a rushed, but very amazing VIP! Until next time!

11. Ana

unnamed (2)
Of course I’ll jump at any chance to tell this story. I remember every detail.  My name is Alicia. I did my first VIP last summer in Jones Beach. I was 27. (I know I’ve been deprived all my life)
Okay so I was standing in line, just chilling, talking to other fans. (I saw Leighanne and Baylee and Leigh and James walk past. James is so cute by the way) When we got close enough to watch them taking pictures I just forgot about everything else, I was staring so hard that when I got closer I made eye contact with Brian and then Nick. Nick winked. They must’ve thought I was crazy. I swear I’m not a creep. It’s funny cause the man controlling the line, I’m not sure if it was Justin or Drew, he said welcome back to me and I told him this was my first time and then he told me I must have a doppleganger. We laughed and then the people in front of me were done and he told me to go ahead. My heart was beating so fast, I remember telling myself in my head to relax. They’re just boys. So I said “Hi Howie”, gave him a hug. Next was Aj. I said hi, gave him a hug, I remember him saying have fun tonight or something. (Next time I need to think of something else to say to Aj. Our interaction was so quick and he’s one of my favorites) Then Nick. I was like “Hey Boo” He said “Hey Boo-Boo, how are you?” I said “good” He hugged me and then he was like “Let’s take the picture”  and he kind of turned me around. I remember him leaning over (I’m so short) his chin was like right on my head and his hand was on my side. I remember Aj’s hand was on my back. I was just thinking Omg they’re touching me! So after they took the picture, Kevin just like popped out (it felt like out of nowhere) and gestured with his fingers to give him a hug. That was so cute. I was like “Hi Kevin” I felt like I was hugging a long lost uncle or something. I think he asked me how I was and then I told him my mom said to tell him hi, she likes him. He said “Oh yeah? Tell your mom I said hi.” He broke the hug and told me to enjoy the show. I told him I will and then Brian, and his eyes are sooo pretty. I was just smiling at him. I said “Hey Boo” (They’re both my boos, chill lol) He hugged me, I remember his arms were around my waist and I’m in my head like I’m hugging Brian! He said “How’s it going? Good to see ya” I just did not want to let go of him but I did. I think he told me to enjoy the show too (I dont know why they even tell us that lol) And I said I will but I just had to say something else to him. So I just thought of anything. I said “Next time you should come to Barclay Center. You could have the after party at my house. It’s right there.” (That was a joke. I don’t seriously want them to have the after party at my house. I’m not delusional.) He’s so cute. He raised his eyebrows and laughed. He was like “Oh yeah?’ I was like “Yeah” He said “Yeah son” and made this like gangsta hand gesture with his hand. I know I sound so hood when I get nervous, I don’t mean to but it’s so funny that he noticed that. And that was it. I went to get my purse from Mike (who’s cool by the way) and then I had to call my mom (like a big baby) cause that was all just crazy. I had to tell somebody. Lol.
They’re awesome for doing all those meet and greets. They probably don’t even remember but they made my whole life that day and they don’t even know it.

12. Priya

unnamed 4
My name is Priya and I was 30 the first time I met them.
After being a fan for 19 years I thought it was about time I finally met the 5 guys I had plastered pictures of all over my walls and adored since I was 11 years old. So when the boys announced the European leg of the In a World Like This tour and they just happened to turn up in London around the same time as my 30th birthday (I could not have asked for a better present) I decided it was now or never and went for the Gold VIP experience & after party.
I arrived at the O2 arena in London around 2pm after spending 2 hours getting ready in the morning – I had managed to find the perfect dress a week before that made me feel a million bucks – I felt I looked good! My sister and I joined the queue that was already forming outside gate A to pick up our VIP passes. We were shortly joined by another fan, Eugenia, who had bought my spare pair of tickets (who is now a friend!). We waited in that queue for what must have been over an hour. But the wait wasn’t all bad – we got talking to other fans in the queue (which is one of my favourite things to do as sometimes I feel like I am the only BSB fan in London and it’s a nice reminder that I’m not!) and the time quickly sped past. Once we got our VIP and afterparty passes, we then joined another queue to pick up our tickets to the show while Eugenia joined the 3rd queue to get into VIP. Being early did mean we were pretty close to the front of the queue for the Gold VIPs and thankfully Eugenia was there to keep our place in the queue while my sister and I went to get the concert tickets.
After all the queuing (and about 3 hours after I had arrived), we went in for sound check. London had the biggest soundcheck party of the whole European tour – 500 people! Amazingly, we ended up centre stage 2nd row from the front so had brilliant views of the stage and boys. I remember saying to my sister that if we wanted to ask a question we were in prime position to ask it as the boys were bound to see us so to start thinking! I was incredibly excited as this was the closest I had ever been to the boys before! Slowly the boys came out one by one and when my favourite Brian came out someone asked about Baylee, and Brian said he’d flown back to the states. Disappointed that I wouldn’t see Baylee sing I said (slightly loudly) that I had wanted to see Baylee sing. Brian heard me! He suddenly looked around asking who said that to which I replied me! My sister remembers him mimicking my British accent (which isn’t the first time he’s done that – I shouted I love you to him at the Fan Event last June and he said I love you too mimicking my accent) although I think my heart must have been pounding at this point as I cannot remember it at all. Brian joked saying I could see him on youtube, to which I said I’d already seen him there – so he teased me saying I could buy his record. When I asked when his record was coming out Brian did what Brian does best and was like “Tomorrow!” and smiled and laughed! I would have been happy had that been the most face time I got with the boys that day but there was more!
Q&A time came round far too quickly and Justin was put in charge of the mic. The boys answered 4 questions and it was time for the last question. My sister and I had come up with a master plan to get the boys to sing me happy birthday, it being my 30th and all, although the “plan” was just that, with no idea how we would get it to happen, and so I don’t think either of actually expected it to happen. So the boys say they have time for one last question and whoever goes crazy will get to ask it. Suddenly my sister goes mental jumping around going me, me, me! I also step in going “over here” and pointing at my sister. The boys can see us going mad. Eugenia was also on the other side of me and also helps attract attention. My sister and I look at Nick pleadingly (I have no idea what my sister wanted to ask at this point, just that she went crazy!) All the boys see us, and are pointing at us to Justin, who comes over and hands the mic to my sister. She asks them (rather nervously bless her) to sing me happy birthday and they oblige. Better still, AJ asks what my name is and when my sister replies, he says “Priya? – That’s a very pretty name Priya.” At that point I could have died and been perfectly happy with life as it had been! Other fans pipe in at this point also saying it’s also their birthday, and the boys are like “Oh, sure, now its everyone’s birthday”. They sung me (and everyone else) Happy Birthday and it made my life – I never thought I would hear THE Backstreet Boys sing my name, but they did – and totally beautifully! Luckily, my brain regained function for a split second and screamed “record this on your camera!” and so I got it on film for all eternity! I genuinely cannot wait till my next birthday so I can play it over, and over, and over again until someone threatens to kill me if I play it one more time.
Then it was time for my meet & greet. Being close to the front I didn’t have to wait long for my picture. Mike was fantastic and we chatted to him as he walked up and down the line taking people’s bags – so before I knew it, it was my turn! If someone had asked me what my dream experience was for meeting them for the first time, my immediate response would have been that they would have known me just like I knew them. I imagine it would have been a very strange experience for me to go up to someone I’ve known for 19 years only for them to not have a clue who I was, and yet, this is what I expected it to be like before I had got there. To go up to them and say “Hi, I’m Priya – you have been a huge influence on my life for the last 19 years” was what I thought I’d say but I wasn’t sure I liked it much. But before I’d even stepped up to the mark I heard AJ go “Priya!” and open his arms out for a cuddle! He wished me happy birthday again and I’m pretty sure I got a kiss on the cheek (although it all happened so quickly I hardly remember.) Then I moved on to Nick who squeezed me tightly in his arms (dream come true!). My sister and I decided we’d combine our pictures and have 2 with both of us in. So at this point it was time for my first picture. I wanted to be next to Brian and Kevin in the first shot so I ran over to the other side and squeezed in between the 2 of them. I don’t remember anything else at this point other than thinking OMG I am between 2 backstreet boys! The smile on my face in the photo tells it all! Kevin gave me a hug and kiss on the cheek and said “hope you enjoy your evening” before I had to move quickly again for our second photo – this time I was between Howie and AJ. I gave Howie a quick hug and hi then went back to Kevin for my second hug of the day! My sister and I had combined our gifts into one bag for each boy, and I wanted to give Kevin and Brian theirs personally. I gave Kevin the gift saying “this is for you” and he thanked me and gave me another hug. Then, the moment I’d waited for 19 years since I fell in love with him after seeing the snow version of the “I’ll Never Break your Heart” video – Brian! I heard the security guard at this point try move me along saying I was holding up the queue but I just ignored him and Brian did too (which was awesome!) I gave Brian the gift, he said thank you and gave me the longest hug ever! I know it was long because it was the only hug where I had time to think to myself “OMG I’m hugging Brian Littrell right now!“ I savoured every delicious moment in his arms and bless Brian cos he didn’t let go until I did (and I actually cannot believe I did!) I could definitely live in his arms forever!

The whole experience was better than I could have dreamed or wished for – Thank you soooooooo much boys!

13. Stefie

unnamed73

My first concert was for the first tour Backstreet Boys January 03rd 1997…I had nose bleed tickets so I didn’t actually ‘’saw’’ the boys neither than hearing them …People were CRAZY I think I had trouble to hear the next fews days…I remember the first fews years they come in Montreal it was crazy like screaming sooo loud it was impossible to actually know which they were singing. In 1997 I went to the show with my cousin and a friend of mine…My mom told us we need to go out right after the show which we done to be able to saw the guys leaving by bus. It was my very first BIG concert and I was in love!

My first VIP experience was in 2005 for Never Gone…We couldn’t buy vip at this time it was only a contest…Which we didn’t win, but one of my friend at the time was at the Bell Center pretty early and one of the crew come to her and some other girls asking if they have VIP PASS…She said no and he said ‘’do you wanna go?’’ Of course she said yes but she told him that she had 2 others friends so he told her ‘’come back here at 3:00 pm not before and you will have your pass ‘’ I remember that this day I was feeling like SHIT!! I was so sick so I spend the day laying on a bench while my friend were talking how impossible it was and we will never have those pass. At 3pm, we go back close to the bus and stay there talking to each other when the guy came back. He look my friend and told her ‘’it was you this morning right?” She said yes and that we were her friends. He then said to wait that he will be back in 5 minutes….Longest 5 minutes ever….When he come back he said ‘’I promise you something I always keep my promises ‘’ He open his hand and have 3 bracelets for us….Only problem he had NO IDEA where we need to go to go inside….So we run around the bell center like idiot before finally finding the spot…Once inside in the line we wait….and wait ….and wait…Then Marcus * Aj bodyguard at the time* appeared. He told us we need to make 1 line, show our bracelet and that no one is allowed to run or stole someone spot. I was sooooo impressed/scared by him when I was in front of him – I put my bracelet in his face like ‘’don’t hurt me, I got it ‘’ Ended up second or third row in front of Nick…They played 2 or 3 songs – the only one I actually remember is Safest Place to Hide because my friend at the time asked it. And I Just Want You To know. It’s all a blurry in my head since I was really sick and I was sooo nervous..We didn’t have picture with the boys but at the end during I just want you to know, Brian brought Baylee on stage. He was shy at first than start running around and dancing. Brian try to make him talk in the microphone but he didn’t want. He end up playing drums and Brian looking at us screaming ‘’IT’S MY SON’’ ….It was a great experience which lead to many many more vips after that.

14. Becca

My first concert experience was awesome! I couldn’t believe it really happened (to this day still) Mine was last May 2014 in San Diego, we had great seats and a blast. I think Brian saw me a few times… They sound wonderful live. Hope to see them again!

15. Jen

My first BSB show wasn’t technically a concert.  The first time I ever saw them perform was at the Jingle Ball in Columbus, OH on December 12, 2007.  I had made plans with my friend Katie (whom I met on LD) and her sister, Carrie.   The only other time I’d seen them perform was on Regis and Kelly earlier in the year for one song.  So this was very exciting to me since this was a whole set I’d get to witness.

I had a three hour drive to Columbus and had planned on driving back home the night of.  But, we got there at 11am and sat outside, in DECEMBER and froze our asses off so that we could get a decent spot.  We were in a pretty good spot in line too.   Despite the cold, it was so much fun waiting in line, just talking to other fans and to each other since this was the first time we’d met face to face.  We had to walk 2 blocks away just to use a bathroom and the ONE time we left to go, THAT is when the Boys decide to venture outside to say hi to the fans.  We were on our way back and we heard the screaming.  We looked at each other and took off running back to the venue. We were so excited we ran across the road without even looking..lo  Luckily no cars were coming.  We laughed about that afterwards.  But we arrived back just as they were heading back in.  In the back of the venue there was a long gate that stretched clear across the parking lot.  AJ had come out of the venue to have a cigarette and then came other to the gate and proceeded to touch EVERY SINGLE fans hand as he walked by.  He went down and back up just to make sure he touched as many hands as possible.  I just remember feeling that he really did love the fans that day because he didn’t need to do that.

The doors opened at seven for the show to start at eight.  I don’t think the ticket checkers even know what hit them…lol  People were just THROWING their tickets at them and running like hell into the venue.  Gotta love GA…NOT!!! lol  We booked it to the stage and got 3rd row center.  I was so happy about our position, especially since it was my first time seeing them in this kind of setting and seeing a whole set list!  The thing was, they were main act.  We had to go through One Republic, Colbie Calillat and surprise guest Blake Lewis before we got to the Boys.  Colbie’s set was right before the Boys and people started getting pretty hostile about midway through her set.  She was HORRIBLE.  And her set seem to last forever.  People started yelling for her to get off the stage at one point.  It was pretty obvious most of the people in the audience were there to see Backstreet Boys!!  Finally…it was time for the Boys set!!

I just remember feeling more excited than I’d ever been in my LIFE!! I was FINALLY seeing MY Boys perform right in front of me!  And I remember being excited to see the choreography to Any Other Way.  I’d seen it before in videos and couldn’t wait for it to unfold right before my very eyes!  And…they didn’t disappoint!  I stood in awe the whole set.  Before, I was bitching that we’d been on our feet most of the day, my back hurt..but that was all forgotten the moment they stepped on stage.  It was MAGICAL!

I had bought a shirt for Nick that I had hoped I could get to him..somehow.  It said, “Beat a drum, Bang the drummer”..lol  So, about halfway thru, I balled the shirt up tight so it would fly and was going to throw it on the stage.  I decided to let Katie’s sister throw it for me because she was standing in front of me and had a better shot.  Now, this thing was balled up TIGHT. She hurls this thing toward the stage and….BAM!!! It smacks Nick right upside his head! I. Was. MORTIFIED…lol  Now, this guy never even batted an eye, never missed a dance step.  Such the professional.

It was over so fast but I walked away with some great memories of that trip.  My first, of MANY BSB adventures.  That trip is what got me hooked on traveling to see them with friends.

After the show, we had found out where they were staying and we headed towards their hotel.  We headed straight for the bar in the hotel and walked around it trying to spot any Backstreet Boy that felt the need to unwind a bit.  Howie didn’t disappoint us!  He was sitting in the back and we must have been so obvious because before we could even say anything he said “if you give me a few minutes I’ll make sure to talk to you guys before I leave”.  We said OK and then went to the bar and parked it there for a while.  Sure enough, a little while later Howie comes over to us and chats for a bit and then takes pictures with us before he headed to his room.  We were beyond excited!  After he left, we sat back down at the bar and had a few drinks.  I had happened to turn around and look at the elevator bank just as AJ steps off the elevator!  We head over towards him and he was in his bare feet..lol  He chatted with us for a good while before heading back to his room.  The night was so great!! After a few more drinks, we were feeling P.R.E.T.T.Y good and we find out which room Nick is staying in.  Somehow Katie and I stumbled up to his floor and sat outside his door for a little bit (we didn’t knock or anything..even drunk we were too scared to disturb him..lol)  Poor guy..there’s no way he didn’t hear us out there at 3am. Happy to report we left and didn’t get in trouble.

All in all, it was THE best first experience I could have asked for.  

It did kinda end on a sour note because I HAD planned on driving back but going to their hotel and getting drunk off my ass wasn’t planned.  So, Katie told me I could crash at their hotel for a few hours to sleep before I had to head back.  I had parked my car near their hotel beforehand and when I got up to leave, I went to my car..and it was gone!  I hadn’t seen the “No Parking” sign and my car had been towed.  So yeah, had to go get my poor car outta impound before I could even start my hungover trek back home.

Since then, I’ve done a few more shows with Katie and Carrie.  That’s why I love these Boys so much.  I have met so many wonderful people and traveled to so many places to see them.  The bond is REAL.

16. Angeleena 

11130253_10100456143831259_1922328717582286030_n
10411001_10100456085752649_2411861478882241579_n

❤ Thank you, Boys, for changing our lives. One concert, VIP, hug, hello, wink and song at a time. ❤

2 thoughts on “16 “First Time With The Backstreet Boys” Stories From Fans Around The World

  1. I remember my first concert it was in Houston for the NKOTBSB tour I had a silver VIP that my now ex boyfriend got me I don’t remember much about the boys I do remember getting a green and silver camo metal bible to give to Brian I remember babbling And acting like I was going to introduce them to my bf lol but I got nervous and looked At Brian and was like are yall allowed to accept gifts he looks at me with this goofy smile and says “gifts are meant to be given what you got for me ” I smiled and pulled the bible out of my purse and he said thank you he could travel with it and then I was rushed off

    Like

  2. I meet the boys for the first time in 2009. It was my biggest dream and a wish come true since I was just a little girl. I started shaking as we waited outside (BSB time you know). As the doors opened for the soundcheck I started crying. And I cried throughout the whole damn thing. My turn at the M&G I couldn’t breath, so a bodyguard gave me water and asked me wait a little and fix my make up haha 🙂 AJ hugged me twice cause I was crying. Brian asked me why I was crying and when I told him that I had been waiting for this for 15 years he smiled and said “aww that’s so nice, did you hear guys? 15 years!”
    At the end of the backstage tour AJ signed my VIP card and asked me “Are you still crying?” hahaha all I could do was nod and cry some more 😂
    During the concert AJ noticed me several times, he was so sweet. All of the were! KTBSPA!

    Like

Leave a Reply

