13 (ish) Friendships Formed Because Of The Backstreet Boys

There is a lot that happens in the Backstreet Boys fandom. There’s excitement about tour announcements, disappointment about tours ended, hysteria about waiting for music, etc. – But none of these things would be as fun without the friends we make through the Backstreet Boys. There are so many fans that would have never known each other if not for the shared love of 5 guys. When I asked a few weeks ago for people to send in their fan-friend stories, I never expected to be so touched.

1. Gavin and Deena

GavinGavinBaby

“I’ve been a massive backstreet boys fan since I was 14. I’m 31 this coming May, so they’ve been a big part of my life for a long time now. I’m a singer, and was once in a group similar to the backstreet boys, so I get a lot of inspiration for from…. But the best part is, 8 years ago in 2008 I was on the official backstreet boys website, in the chatroom chatting to a few fans about the upcoming tour they were doing at the time. Little did I know that one of them would one day become my wife! I married Deena in 2011 in Canada (I’m originally from the UK, and she’s from Canada). We travelled back and forth to each other’s countries from 2008 to 2012 when I was accepted for a visa to work and live in Canada. We bought our first house last year, and also became the proud parents of our beautiful little girl Alice. I literally owe my life to the backstreet boys, so I will be eternally grateful for what they have given me. In 2014 they toured Canada and we got to meet them at soundcheck and tell them our story” – Gavin

2. Denise and Iris

Denise

“I met my best friend, Iris, thanks to Kevin. It all started with a picture being posted on facebook of Kevin. A lot of people were being very nasty about him and i was one of the few that stood up for that. Then I got a private message from Iris saying she found me so strong to stand up for what I believed in and for Kevin.
And we never stopped talking! There is not a day that we dont talk. From the moment we wake up till the moment we go to sleep. Because we live so far apart (holland-germany), we dont see each other often. But we can share our heart and soul with each other. What I have with her I never had with anyone before. She is the best friend I could ever ask for. She is always there for me, always there to listen or to help. We have so much fun when we are together. And we share a lot of the same passions. Although she is an AJ girl and I am a Kevin girl, we understand each other like no one can. If she is not there, I feel incomplete. She feels like she is my long lost sister. I love her with all my heart and our friendship will go on forever. And even forever doesnt seem like long enough!” – Denise
3. Nick and Kristina
Kristina Nick Friend
“In 2006, I joined the Backstreet Boys fanclub and met my best friend Kristina or as everyone else knew her K~Witt. Kristina and I had a very close bond through having the genetic terminal condition Cystic Fibrosis and BSB. She knew the guys very well. Her and her Mom had connections with Brian and his wife Leighanne. Our closeness went as far as we were dating in her eyes. She would even warn other women that if she so much as spoke to me they’d be trouble, that I was hers and hers only lol. Due to me being in New Zealand as much as I loved and wanted to be with her, I found the distance too great. We used to chat/skype each other 24/7 and she helped me meet BSB when they toured NZ for the first time in 2010.

Unfortunately, this story doesn’t have a great ending. After a flight to catch up with Brian and Leighanne in Las Vegas she got a very bad chest infection which caused her to need to be put into an induced coma before she had a stroke which killed the left side of her brain and she passed away on July 5, 2010 unexpectedly from complications of cystic fibrosis.

Because of her I’d have not got to meet BSB. I struggle daily with my condition but she’s my inspiration and know she’s pushing me on from heaven.” – Nick
4. The Pandaskunk Girls (Rose, Julie, Laureen, and Lynsey)

“So this is the way the Pandaskunk Girls first united. Honestly, it’s a strange story. If you couldn’t tell by that first sentence.

Julie (known in the fanfic world as @rokofages75) and I have known each other online for almost ten years. Which is sort of insane when I think about it. I’m pretty sure we met in 2006. The fanfiction community has become almost like a family. It’s shrunk a bit since the glory days in the 90s and early 2000s. In 2006 she asked for help writing a story called Code Blue and was calling out to any writers interested. I wasn’t exactly known in the fandom at all, or even in fanfic yet. I was pretty low-profile in this fandom once upon a time! I signed up. We wrote and talked and between that and a forum for a well known site called “Absolute Chaos” we connected. Basically Julie is the only person in this fandom who I’ve discovered is as crazy as I am. I mean that in a good way too! I could go on and on about how crazy we both are. Lets just say we have a morbid sense of humor that might rival Matt Stone and Trey Parker and leave it at that. Our friends who I will get to in a moment will fully agree with this assessment and call us insane too. But secretly they love it. That or they tolerate it LOL. But I say love cause they totally go along with us. I mean, how many people would dress up as a “Zom-BeeGee” with me for Studio 54 Night, zombie makeup, afro and all? (This was one of the ideas maybe a little “too” crazy for our two friends but that’s okay). Nick loved it! Howie didn’t seem to mind either.  If I had a bucket list I guarantee you one thing on there would be posing with BSBs dressed up as a zombie with one of my best friends.

Laureen aka @LaureenM25 was actually a friend of Julie’s longer than I was. I knew her online though Julie because she also read her stories. The two live decently close to each other. One year after Julie and I met I went to Chicago with them for Nick’s I’m Taking Off tour. Laureen is awesome. Simply put. When I met her in person for the first time the three of us hung out and there was no awkwardness. I was worried there might be cause online I didn’t know Laureen too well but nope! You don’t get that lucky with everyone. I didn’t see her again till the cruise last year but again we hung out like no time had passed.

Lynsey. Lynsey @lynsey4 I sort of knew online between twitter and the occasional fanfiction review. That was it. Julie and I were on the 2011 cruise and met her there. Her roommate was strange cause she did the match program so we immediately invited her with us. Turns out she lives not too far from Laureen and Julie! I’m the odd one out on the west coast, unfortunately for me LOL. But I knew Lynsey was epic when she had no problems creeping down a hallway on the boat with us while Julie’s shirt played “Mission Impossible” music. See this is what I mean when I say they feed the crazy! But in all seriousness the three of us simply clicked on the 2011 cruise. We’d never really known her before that but man it felt like we’d known her for years after what, three days?

Remember the “It’s Christmas Time Again” video? Do you remember that weird panda thing (Pandaskunk) that flies across the sky in it? Well Julie and I had the idea to make shirts with it. Cause why not?! Julie and Lynsey were coming to Vegas for the 2013 concert and we wanted to have shirts for VIP. Lynsey was kinda iffy on it. (The front said beneath the Pandaskunk – When the pandaskunk comes flying down, down down…  and the back says You know the Boys are back in town, town, town…That’s when it’s Backstreet Time again). Long story short the Boys LOVED it. Security tried to rush us through VIP and the Boys kept telling them they were talking LOL. Lynsey, Julie, and Laureen wore the shirts (and even dressed up as Pandaskunks) on the 2013 Cruise. I was unable to go but their door was dedicated to me in spirit. Finally, all four of us got to go on the cruise together last year. We wore the shirts on the first day. Brian freaking remembered us! LMAO it was hilarious. He was pointing at us and our shirts all excited lol. I gotta admit the red did make us stand out. You can even see where we are in this photo from the BSB website. We pretty much agreed after that we’d wear the Pandaskunk shirts to any BSB function we’re at together. Like I said, Lynsey and Laureen are pretty awesome and great friends for supporting our crazy! And believe me, I know that can be a struggle LOL.

I’m so thankful to the BSB fandom in general. I’ve made so many friends it’s too many to mention. In the fanfiction community or in the fandom outside of that. When my mom passed away in 2012 the show of love and support in this fandom blew my mind. I had countless cards sent to me. Jen @JennayHeartNick along with others sent me flowers. Julie sent me a giant stuffed Platypus. (Long story but it’s name is Platypussy Galore). Tweets and RTs asking fans for their prayers for me and my family. People I didn’t even know were tweeting me with their support. Thank you Backstreet Boys for the friends you’ve given me. We BSB fans might be a dysfunctional family, but we are a family.” – Rose ( @ForeverRebel )

5. Brandy and Kristy

unnamed (2)

“My name is Brandy and I met one of my best friends Kristy through BSB about 6 years ago at the unbreakable tour at wolf trap in Vienna, VA. Kristy and I met while we were waiting in line for vip and we started  talking and we just clicked ..we sat next to each other during soundcheck. We both told each other who our favorite was hers was Nick and mine is Brian…After we met BSB we both cried together and the concert was amazing to. We have been to several BSB events together we even went on the BSB cruise 2013 together and I went on her first plane with her and first cruise and we had a blast..We also visit each other from time to time since she lives in Va Beach and I live in Maryland..We also are alot alike we both love boy meets world and quote it all the time lol…we are always there for each other. .I feel like I owe BSB the world cause if it wasnt for them I wouldn’t have met one of my greatest friends.”

6. Amy and Sara

Afterparty (2)

“So, Sara (the site owner) is the friend that I met thanks to BSB. We originally met on the FB Event page for the Vegas IAWLT show. She wanted a non-crazy nick fan to be in her VIP Pic, lol. The fact that I was a Kevin girl sold her, I am pretty sure anyway. This was my first VIP experience, or backstreet event in at least a decade. We had quite an adventure that night. We will forever hate Chateau together.

Anyway, If it wasnt for Sara, I am 100% sure my After Party VIP experience wouldn’t be nearly as amazing as it was. I would have had 4 other random girls in my VIP pic who I knew nothing about. Instead, I know two of the girls and I am pretty sure she is obsessed with me since I am hanging up on her wall. LMAO.
Okay lets be real. I was a pathetic excuse of a fan before Sara. My Fangirling consisted of following their FB Pages (how boring right?) and maybe visiting their website once a month praying for a new update. She got me hooked in the world of twitter which has changed my fangirling for life. She listens to my crazy rants and vents, and helps me stay in the loop when my work/personal life gets way too busy to stay in the twitter daze. Thank you Backstreet Boys for introducing me to Sara! She is amazing.” – Amy
7. Melissa and Her Best Friend
“17 years ago in 1998, I was the new girl in a new high school. I was going to a new school that non of my middle school friends were going to. I was sitting at the lunch table one day by myself. Eating my lunch and listening to my personal CD player. We didn’t have ITunes or iPods back than.. Lol. Anyways I was really starting to get into bsb back then. That I even went to a store called “Media Play” and paid a ton of money for a teenage girl to get “the boys” first Album. Anyways I was listening to this one CD minding my own business when this girl called to me from the table across from me  “Hey what are you listening to there”? “You talking to me” I ask? She goes “Yes you” I tell her “Backstreet Boys”  Oh my goodness if you had seen her face just light up like no other when I said that. We started talking  from that day forward for our love of all things Backstreet. She was always an AJ girl. She liked that he was such a Rebel. I’ve always liked Brian. Anyways we went to two concerts  together. The into the millennium tour and the black & blue tour. I have such awesome memories of us and the boys. It’s to bad we don’t live closer anymore. But I still talk to her on Facebook. I’m so glad  I can still have her and her brother as my two closest friends in life. And this is how I met one of my best friends because of the Backstreet Boys!” – Melissa
8. Stefie and Manon
stefie

“Me and my best friend / roomate Manon ( @musik_freak ) met on the bsb fanclub in 2008 …. I was in school and had time to kill and I remember one girl talk to me about this thread on the forum with girls from Quebec. I start posting on this thread and one time one girl help me revise for one of my test …. Moera that what she was calling herself on the forum… It was a little bit before the Unbreakable show in Ottawa where I was going with friends . First time I met her was there she came out of the VIP and she was screaming because her friend told her to let it out ..I was like ‘’ who is this crazy one ‘’ …The next day we introduce at the Montreal show but nothing more . I remember 1 or 2 weeks later my friends want to go in Sudbury and Sault St Marie but I couldn’t go because I have school during the sault st marie day so I end up going with other friends  and since I was talking with Manon I told my friends they could invite her….Since then we were always planning tour all together and in 2009 I move out from my parents home and we move together as roomate… A lot of people call us the Double Trouble * even Nick and Mike are calling us like that lol * …She is like my older sister, she was there for me when I lost my dad in 2010 and I can truly said I don’t know where I would be right now without her. She help me go through this hard pain and support me even if I was a pain in the ass at this moment. We are doing all our roadtrip together because we understand each other because we know we can trust each other.” – Stefie (@girlygirlstefie)

9.  Jen and Cherelle 
“I started to become a DIE HARD Backstreet fan in February 2006.  I had always loved their music but in 06, something really clicked and I was completely hooked!  During this time, I was introduced to a site called LiveDaily.  I made several really good friends on that site but in 2007, when the Boys were dropping Unbreakable, a certain girl, Cherelle, I had been talking to and I (along with another girl we met on LD, Liane) made plans to go to New York for the album drop.  None of us had been to New York City before so we decided to go for four days and make a big trip out of it.  This was the first time I’d met Cherelle in person and I had NO idea what this trip would start.  Cherelle soon became my BSB buddy.  Over the years, I have lost count of the amount of shows and events we have attended together.  We live on the same coast but I live in West Virginia and she lives in Boston.  But, we never let distance stop us.  We have done trips from Minnesota  to Montreal.  But, throughout all of this, Cherelle has become my best friend.  No wait…more than a friend…I think of her as the sister I never really had…I think of her as FAMILY.  She is there for me whenever I need someone.  The times we have spent together, I will cherish for the rest of my life.  This friendship will last a lifetime and I can not thank the Boys enough for bringing us together.  It blows my mind that we are coming up, next year, on our 10th anniversary of meeting.  Here’s to another 10+ years of BSB memories and friendship.  I can’t wait to make more memories!” – Jen
10. The Noisy Girls (Jen, Diane, Victoria, Bianca, Luz, Chels, and Poppy)
“Now this group of girls are VERY special to me. Over 5 years ago, we had a comedy website called The Backstreet Noise Project…we were the Noisy Girls!  The memories attached to these special ladies are INSANE!  The group chats, Skype chats, the writing together, the friendship these girls have given me over the years have been so special to me.  These are some of the most hysterical, loving, caring group of girls you would ever meet.  Again, these girls are not my friends, they are my family.  Even tho our site has kind of faded, and life has taken over and we don’t talk as much as we used to anymore, I know, without a DOUBT, that I ever needed one or all of them, they’d be there in a heartbeat.  We have a very special bond.  They consist of Diane (DD), my twinny Victoria (LadyV), Bianca, Luz (aka sorting), Chels (aka Hat) and Poppy, and Sam.” – Jen
11. The Canadian Buddies (Jen, Cherelle, Diane, Sofia, Cinzia, and Erin) 
“Now this group of girls…if you want to have a great time, THESE are the chicks to hang out with.  I call these girls “My Canadian Buddies”.  Again, most of them I met on LD.  Cherelle and I have done quite a few events and shows with these funny, lovely ladies as well.  The one that sticks out in my mind the most tho was Nick’s ITO Canadian Tour in 2011.  We did three shows in three days, from Toronto to Montreal.  Mix together all these crazy girls and VERY little sleep and you will not believe the outcome.  Hilarity ensues!  From 3am sleepy driving ramblings to a crappy hotel, the trip still is one of my all time favorites.” – Jen
12. Jen And The Rest 🙂
“This group of ladies…we’ve done quite a few events together, including the EPIC trip to LA for the Boys 20th anniversary and the Boys NYE shows in 2012.  From doing events to CRAZY, late night phone calls, these ladies are very special to me.  We never fail to have a blast when we are all together! (Me, Kim, Rachel, Melissa, Maria and Lynsey ready to see the Boys on NYE!)”
10405621_10205444707302941_14650934673001203_n
“I also want to give a special shoutout to Emilia and Katie Paul.  I attended my very first BSB event, the Jingle Ball in Cleveland, OH with Katie, whom I also met on LD, back in 2007.  Emilia and I have also done quite a few events as well together.
I just can NOT thank the Backstreet Boys enough for bringing each and every one of these beautiful people into my life.  I truly don’t know what I’d do without them.  They are a treasure to me and I love each and every one from the bottom of my heart.
One SPECIAL shoutout I want to do is to the creator of this blog, Sara.  I met her just under a year ago on TDS and she quickly became one of my best friends.  She’s a very special person with a quick wit, and someone I can truly be myself with without fear of being judged.  The many, many, many, MANY conversations we’ve had have always left me laughing and the feeling of someone who’s there to lend me an ear and support.  Thank you Sara for all that you do for me.  Last year, I had the great pleasure of surprising Sara with this little gem. What I would have given to have seen her face when she saw it the first time.” (EDITOR’S NOTE: For the record, when Jen sent this photo to me, I was driving and had to roll down my windows so I could breathe)
13. Sara and Andrea
DSC03102
When I was 16, I started a job at a place for little girls birthday parties. The first night Andrea (who had just started as well) and I worked together, the electricity went out in the middle of the party. Scrambling to find something for them to sing karaoke to, Andrea suggested Backstreet Boys. The little girls, of course, had no idea who they were, but I did! I found out that she was just as big a fan as I am and soon, we were together all the time. 10 years, several Backstreet Boys events and a flight from Nashville to Vegas to see them, we’re best friends and I couldn’t imagine life without her.
To my other BSB friends, you will never know how much you mean to me. To Jen, Amy, and Emilia – I love y’all so much, thank you for always listening. Steph (Cupcake), Stefie (Tootsie Roll), Sasa, Nevena, Toni – Thank you for making laugh and putting up with me all the time. Jenn – Thank you for being around SO long and talking with me everyday. Love! Rose – Thanks for all your crafty spy work, chats, and love for the lovepurge! Gemma – Thank you for being so logical all the time. Mary (Bunny) – Thank you for being so incredibly creative and inspiring to be a go-getter everyday! To Everyone Reading This That Shares a Love For BSB – Thank YOU for being here and making this site a success. ❤
Dear Backstreet Boys,
Thank You for being together so that we could all be together. You’re the glue. ❤
One thought on “13 (ish) Friendships Formed Because Of The Backstreet Boys

Leave a Reply

